Ergonomists Without Borders committee members Dr. Carlos Espejo Guasco and Dr. Tom Albin presented an applied ergonomics course December 1 – 3, 2015 in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. The worshop was sponsored by the Administradora de Riesgos Laborales Salud Segura (Administration for Occupational Hazards and Health Insurance), an agency of the Government of the Dominican Republic, and by Sociedad Dominicana de Ergonomía, La Sociedad de Ergonomistas de Mexico and Caribbean, and the International Ergonomics Association.

    Approximately 40 occupational physicians, engineers and attorneys participated in the course, which covered applied physical ergonomics, especially assessment and remediation of workplace risks.

    erg accom
    Dr. Tom Albin and Dr. Carlos Espejo Guasco at Training Course.


    Moritz Albert, Daniel Reinhardt, and Ann-Kathrin Kraft are the winners of the 2015 Dieter W. Jahns Student Practitioner Award.  Mr. Albert, Mr. Reinhardt, and Ms. Kraft are students of the Human-Computer-Interaction Master of Science program at the Institute Human-Computer-Media, at the Julius-Maximilians-Universität in Würzburg, Germany.  The team’s project, “Development, Formative Evaluation, and Summative Evaluation of a Tablet-based Application for Real-time Resuscitation Documentation”, employed a user-centered design process including several iterations and formative evaluation methods such as pluralistic walkthroughs, thinking aloud, and simulated resuscitations using a patient manikin to develop a tablet-based application for documentation of in-hospital cardiopulmonary resuscitations that enables real-time documentation by a member of the resuscitation team.

    erg accomp2
    Daniel Reinhardt, Ann-Kathrin Kraft and Moritz Albert with the award.

    © 2017 Foundation for Professional Ergonomics. All Rights Reserved.